I know I’ve been missing for days, but I have my reasons, which will be explained later.

Finally, after weeks waiting for this marvelous, and wonderful, episode, I have finished ERASED (for the first time I controlled myself, and didn’t read the manga).

WOW! That’s my reaction to it.

Since the beginning of this anime, you can see that the director, Tomohiko Itō, knows what he was doing. It is beautifully directed to the bone. Every single detail was there for a reason. I could not expect something that amazing coming from the person who unfortunately directed Sword Art Online (both seasons).

Even though there was no insane plot twist in the anime, ERASED, knew how to hold my attention, and even make me anxiously wait for the next episode. Every episode ending has a powerful cliffhanger, that don’t give any chance of a plot twist. It just makes you mad inside, because you definitely knows what is going to happen on the next episode.

I cannot forget to mention its cinematography, and wonderful change of aspect ratio in THE RIGHT MOMENTS (a bunch of Hollywood directors still don’t know how to do that effectively, except Nolan, who for some reason didn’t bother me at all doing that during Interstellar). How the focus was used, and how it knew how to play with its shots and lights, ERASED is a perfect combination between spices, something well done, with nothing going too much, neither too little.

I wish I knew more animes that made me tear up MULTIPLE TIMES, like this one did.

ERASED is as powerful as any well done series you can find out there, one of the few animes that I would recommend even for people who hate the platform.

It deserves to get a Llama Award.

Anime: ERASED (Boku Dake ga Inai Machi)
Year: 2016
Written by: Kei Sanbe (manga) and Taku Kishimoto (anime)
Directed by: Tomohiko Itō
Produced by: Kenta Suzuki and Taku Matsuo
Starring: Shin’nosuke Mitsushima, Minami Takayama, Tao Tsuchiya and Mitsuru Miyamoto
Cinematography by: Toshiaki Aoshima
Edited by: Shigeru Nishiyama
Music by: Yuki Kajiura
Score: ★★★★★

LLAMAAWARD

 

 

